The 2018 Ballot in Benzie County

These Democratic candidates will appear on the general election ballot. Please note: October 9 is the last day to register for November 6 general election.


U.S. Senate
Senator Debbie Stabenow is running for a fourth term.

U.S. House, District 1
Matt Morgan will appear on the ballot following a successful primary write-in campaign.

Statewide Michigan Ballot Proposals

Proposal 1, Marijuana Legalization Initiative (2018)

A “yes” vote supports legalizing the recreational use and possession of marijuana for persons 21 years of age or older and enacting a tax on marijuana sales. A “no” vote opposes this chaange.

Proposal 2, The Michigan Independent Redistricting Commission Initiative (constitutional amendment)

A “yes” vote supports transferring the power to draw the state’s congressional and legislative districts from the Michigan State Legislature to an independent redistricting commission. A “no” vote opposes this change.

State Offices

Governor: Gretchen Whitmer 
Lieutenant Governor: Garlin Gilchrist

Michigan Attorney General: Dana Nessel

Michigan Secretary of State: Jocelyn Benson

State Senate, District 35: Mike Taillard

State House, District 101: Kathy Wiejaczka (wy-jes-ka)

State Supreme Court (nonpartisan election)
Democrats have endorsed:
Sam Bagenstos
Megan Cavanagh

Benzie County Commission

There are seven county commission districts. Five Democrats are running. Here are the districts:

District I (Almira Township, East of Reynolds Rd.): no Democrat candidate.
District II (Almira Township, West of Reynolds Rd., Lake and Platte townships): Mark Willette Green.
District III (City of Frankfort and Crystal Lake Township): Linda Farrell.
District IV (Benzonia Township): Coury Carland.
District V (Homestead Township): Jeff Sandman.
District VI (Colfax and Inland townships): no Democrat candidate.
District VII (Blaine, Gilmore, Joyfield, and Weldon townships): Don Smeltzer.

County Road Commission

Charles Brozofsky

Education Boards

State Board of Education
Judy Pritchett
Tiffany Tilley

UM Board of Regents
Jordan Acker
Paul Brown

MSU Board of Trustees
Brianna Scott
Kelly Tebay

WSU Board of Governors
Bryan Barnhill
Dr. Anil Kumar