Women’s History: One Great Read

The history of women around the world is one of both centuries of oppression and the triumph over formidable obstacles. In honor of Women’s History month, we’re sharing an award-winning book that tells the story of the remarkable efforts of women to ratify the 19th amendment and finally win the right to vote.

The Woman’s Hour by Elaine Weiss captures the thrilling final victory in the seven-decades long fight to fully ratify the 19th amendment, culminating in August 1920, Nashville, Tennessee, the last state to ratify.

With appearances by Woodrow Wilson, Warren Harding, Frederick Douglass, and Eleanor Roosevelt, The Woman’s Hour is an inspiring story of activists winning their own freedom in one of the last campaigns forged in the shadow of the Civil War, and the beginning of the great twentieth-century battles for civil rights.

Awarded the American Bar Association’s Silver Gavel Award, The Woman’s Hour has also been lauded by Hillary Clinton who is producing a mini-series based on the book. “Both a page-turning drama and an inspiration for every reader,” she said.

More information can be found at elaineweiss.com

Donate to the Benzie Dems

We accept donations by a secure online credit card payment option via ActBlue.





If you'd rather donate by check, mail it to the address on our Membership Form. Please print, fill out and send along our MAIL-IN MEMBERSHIP FORM

2021 Monthly Meetings

We are holding our regular general meetings on Zoom. We announce those meetings by email & will continue to hold virtual meetings until further notice.

Saturday February 20, 9:30 am
Saturday, March 20, 9:30 am
Saturday, April 17, 9:30 am
Saturday, May 15, 9:30 am
Saturday, June 19, 9:30 am
Saturday, July 17, 9:30 am
Saturday, August 21. 9:30 am
Saturday, September 18, 9:30 am
Saturday, October 16, 9:30 am
Saturday, November 20, 9:30 am
Saturday, December 11 – Holiday Party

Archives