Contact Elected Officials

Project Vote Smart is a nonpartisan project that provides information on elected officials at the state and national level, including their positions and voting records. If you decide to contact your elected officials, here are some tips:

  • Be brief: one page or less.
  • Let them know who you are, who you represent, and what you want from them in the first paragraph.
  • Limit your letter to one issue and explain why the issue is of concern to constituents.
  • Provide verifiable facts and data if possible.
  • Be straightforward: ask recipient whether he or she will support specific legislation or regulation.
  • Personalize your relationship: If you’ve voted for them, supported their campaign, or have personal or business connections, say so.

Ask for action. It’s their job to represent you.

The State of Michigan

Michigan Government Website

Current Administration

Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer (D)
P.O. Box 30013
Lansing, Michigan 48909
email: [email protected]
Phone: (517) 373-3400
Phone, Constituent Services: (517) 335-7858
Fax:(517) 335-6863

Michigan Secretary of State
Jocelyn Benson

Contact Form
Note: Official form is only available contact and is at

Michigan Attorney General
Dana Nessel

G. Mennen Williams Building, 7th Floor
525 W. Ottawa St.
P.O. Box 30212
Lansing, MI 48909
Main Number: 517-335-7622
Fax: 517-373-3042

Michigan Senate

State senators serve four-year terms concurrent with the governor’s term of office. Terms begin on January 1. Michigan senators can serve two four-year terms. All 40 seats are up for election on a 2022, 2026, 2030 schedule.

Our State Senator– District 32
Senator Jon Bumstead
201 Townsend Street
Lansing, MI 48933
Senator Jon Bumstead
P.O. Box 30036
Lansing, MI 48909-7536
By Phone: (517) 373-1635
Toll Free: (855) 347-8032
By Fax: (517) 373-3300
By Email:
[email protected]
Please include name, address, and phone number.

Representatives are elected in even-numbered years for two-year terms and take office on the first day of January following their election. A representative is limited to serving three terms.


Our State Representative, District 103
Betsy Coffia (D)

Anderson House Office Building
124 N Capitol Ave
Lansing, MI 48933
Michigan House of Representatives
P.O. Box 30014
Lansing, MI 48909-7514
Phone: (517) 373-3817
Email [email protected]

State Representative District 104
John Roth
Anderson House Office Building
S-1388 House Office Building
Lansing, MI 48933
S-1388 House Office Building
P.O. Box 30014
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 373-1766
Email: [email protected]

U.S. Government

Our U.S. Representative
U.S. Congressional District 2

Jack Bergman (R)
Address: 414 Cannon HOB, Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-4735
Fax: (202) 226-0779

Our U.S. Senators
Senator Gary Peters (D)

2 Russell Courtyard
Washington, DC 20510
Phone (202) 224-6221
Fax (202) 224-1388
TTY (202) 224-2816
8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Email: [email protected]

Senator Deborah Stabenow (D)
Contact Form
133 Hart Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: (202) 224-4822
Northern Michigan Office
3335 S. Airport Road West, Suite 6B
Traverse City, MI 49684
Phone: (231) 929-1031
View District News

Our County Commissioners

Benzie County District MapDistrict 1
Almira Township East of Reynolds Road
Bob Roelofs-RPO Box 81
Lake Ann, MI 49650
Email Bob

District II
Almira Township West of Reynolds Road
Lake Township
Platte Township
Art Jeannot-R
PO Box 317
Honor, MI 49640
Email Art

District 3
City of Frankfort
Crystal Lake Township
Karen Cunningham-D
915 Elm St.
Frankfort, MI 49635
Email Karen

District 4
Benzonia Township
Rhonda Nye-R
6515 South Street
Benzonia, MI 49616
Email Rhonda

District 5
Homestead Township
Tim Markey-RPO Box 91
Honor, MI 49640
Email Tim

District 6
Colfax Township
Inland Township
Evan Warsecke-R
448 Court Place
Beulah, MI 49617
Email Evan

District 7
Blaine Township
Gilmore Township
Joyfield Township
Weldon Township
Gary Sauer-R
4558 Mick Road
Frankfort, MI 49635
(231) 651-0647
Email Gary

Join the Benzie Democrats

Donate to the Benzie Dems

We accept donations by a secure online credit card payment option via ActBlue.

If you'd rather donate by check, mail it to the address on our Membership Form. Please print, fill out and send along our MAIL-IN MEMBERSHIP FORM

Benzie Democrats Calendar