Benzie Dems Award Scholarships to Local Grads

The Benzie County Democratic Committee is pleased to announce the four graduating seniors who are winners of the Carroll Volpe Honorary Scholarship, each of whom were awarded $750.  They are Ethan Evans from Frankfort-Elberta High School and Chloe Burdick, Olivia Bailey, and Allison Barker from Benzie High School.

This is the fourth year of awarding these scholarships. The scholarship program was initiated by and named for Carroll Volpe, a Democratic Party leader and public education champion who urged her party to help local students further their post-secondary education.

Seniors at both high schools were invited to write an essay or present a design in graphic form that illustrated their research and thought process relating to a topic about the Common Good. As graduates are at or near voting age, the Scholarship Committee believes it’s vital that students  learn about the many sides to any issue in politics, their communities, and society in general.

Chloe Burdick will attend John Carroll University, Olivia Bailey is heading to Northwestern University, Allison Barker is attending Cedarville University, and Ethan Evans will attend Northern Michigan University.

The Benzie County Democrats wish the winners good luck as they begin their college experience. Congratulations to all recipients.

Donate to the Benzie Dems

We accept donations by a secure online credit card payment option via ActBlue.

If you'd rather donate by check, mail it to the address on our Membership Form. Please print, fill out and send along our MAIL-IN MEMBERSHIP FORM

Monthly Meetings

Due to the ongoing threat of Covid, we will continue with Zoom meetings for the foreseeable future: (See “Get Involved” tab for details.)

Regular Meetings, 3rd Saturdays:
February 19
March 19
April 16
May 21
June 18
July 16
August 20
September 17
October 15
November 19
December 17

Business meetings, 1st Tuesdays:
February 1
March 1
April 5
May 3
June 7
July 5
August 2
September 6
October 4
November 1
December 6